Scheduling Time to Write is Key!

My first week of new writing goals went fairly well. As I expected, the idea of getting up early fell flat. I got up twice, was super productive that first day, then only got about 15 minutes of writing in on the second morning. I’ll just keep trying on that one. I sleep like the dead, and more often than not I don’t even hear my alarm go off. I end up clocking into work late about half the time. Luckily, I work from my home, so it’s just a matter of rolling out of bed directly into my chair. Kinda kills my allotted short story time, though. *grumble*

The two hours in the afternoons are perfect. I love it, and I look forward to it all day. That time is set aside for work on my novel. Fantasy is a lot of fun to write, but there’s a lot of set up, especially if your setting is an entirely different world than our own. The world building is pretty intense – you have to think about maps and climates and agriculture and social differences… the list goes on and on. I’m having a blast, but I’m itching to get to the actual story. I need to be patient though. Getting the world building done right will only help me in the long run.

Working like crazy right now on a short story for Dreamspinner Press that’s due in four days. Talk about cutting it short. (Come to think of it, this sounds familiar… I waited til the last minute for “Snow Angel,” too.) In my defense, I hadn’t intended on submitting a story for this particular collection. The theme is a romance that somehow involves time travel, and for the life of me I could not come up with an idea. Something hit me like a brick the other night, and now I’m determined to make the deadline. Needless to say, that will be my sole focus for the next few days. (Sorry, Kieran! I haven’t forgotten you, I promise.) After this one is finished and sent in, I can go back to working on my novel and the story for DSP’s next collection.

All in all, this week it’s gotten a little easier to juggle everything around. If you’re serious about writing, then scheduling writing time is necessary to achieve your goals. Counting the days until I can write full time.

~B

Your feedback is welcome!

