Writing is Part of my Everyday Life

I was at work the other day listening to doctors mumble their way through medical reports and trying to make sense of them when I realized… it’s already August. Seriously. Most of the year is gone, I didn’t even notice it passing by. It gave me that “Oh, shit…” feeling, got me thinking about what I have or haven’t accomplished in 2012.

I’ve gotta say, I’ve done myself proud. I’m not the best when it comes to self discipline, but I’ve accomplished something this year that really makes me swell with pride, something that I’ve been struggling to do for a while now.

I’ve made writing part of my everyday life. It’s not a passing thing anymore. It’s serious business. I have trained my mind to make it a daily requirement. If I don’t spend some part of my day on writing – whether it be working on my actual novel or reading about the craft of writing – I can’t sleep. I feel like something is missing. I have learned to live and breathe my stories, my characters. I talk about it with my husband to work through plot issues. I carry my notebook with me around the house. I set goals on which scenes I need to write out by the end of the day, and I do it. Writing is no longer something that I try to squeeze in when I have the time. It’s something that I’ve made the time for. At the end of the day, I’m itching to get started when my writing time rolls around.

It feels amazing.

When I was 29, at the beginning of the year I announced a goal to my husband and sister – that I would complete my first novel before I hit 30. My birthday came and went, and I had nothing to show for it. It was frustrating and more than a little disappointing. In retrospect, I think I set a goal that was too huge for me at that time. It was ambitious, but not very realistic. I had barely wrapped my head around the idea of making writing my full time career when I set this goal.

So I’ve revised it. Here we are, about to hit September. I write 6 out of 7 days a week, and using some tricks I learned from the lovely Rachel Aaron, I have learned to counter writer’s block and pump out a steady stream of words. I’m excited about my characters and their journey.

My goal now? Finish the book before the end of 2012. Four months. I’m about 33k words into my main project’s first draft, with the end goal somewhere in the ballpark of 100 – 125k. Starting in January next year, I can continue the process of rewriting, editing, and polishing… then it’s on to seeking out an agent.

Scary goal for me. Just saying it out loud makes me reach for the wine bottle. But I’m quite a bit more confident in myself now than I’ve ever been before. I know I can do it. I want this so bad I can feel it in my bones.

I wish all of you the best of luck in your own writing endeavors. I’d love to hear where you’re at in your own work in progress. What goals have you set for yourself?

Until next time!

~B

10 thoughts on “Writing is Part of my Everyday Life

  1. Virginia says:

    This is fantastic! Such a positive post :) I felt the same way from around my mid 20’s until the day I turned 36 – thats a long time to feel that horrid lagging feeling of ‘I should be writing….’ At first, I had no excuses. Then I had babies. Then I had my birthday earlier in the year and saw some quotes on Pinterest that lit a fire up my proverbial. I am now 10k into my WIP – 10k words dont seem like many but to me its a huge milestone.
    Good luck with finishing your first draft! :)

    • Beka Tinsley says:

      I think 10k is awesome. It does feel like a milestone, it’s always so exciting when I hit that first 10k.

      I always tell myself that there must be a reason writing didn’t work out before now – maybe it wasn’t quite the right time in my life until now. It helps when I start getting on my own case about how many years I didn’t write. =)

      Thanks, Virginia! <3

  2. Hi there!

    I found your blog through your signature at DSP. Nice post. There’s just something about turning 29, isn’t there? That’s the year I started getting serious about writing too.

    Looking forward to following your progress. I enjoyed your short story and would be happy to read more of your work!

    ~CD

    • Beka Tinsley says:

      I wonder if it’s the big 3-0 approaching that gets people moving in their late 20s =D Felt like a big age milestone to me, almost like – Ok, no more screwing around. Time to get down to real business. LOL

      I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed my story! I’ll be working on fantasy for a while, but I always throw in romantic elements (I can’t help myself, I love love ^.^)

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. Anne says:

    Found your blog through Alex’s IWSG and unlike you, I’m just starting my journey as a writer. But I already know what it feels like setting a goal and having nothing much to show for it. But Rome wasn’t built in a day and success doesn’t come overnight. So I guess there’s a lot of hope for us.

    • Beka Tinsley says:

      The IWSG has given me tons of inspiration – it’s tough for us as writers to reach out sometimes, but every time I do I find another little pocket of amazing people who help me get through a rough spot in my writing (like Alex’s site!).

      The best advice I’ve ever gotten is to just keep writing. It seems so simple, like it should be obvious, but I have to constantly remind myself of that. Success doesn’t come overnight – that’s another one I’m going to keep in mind!

      Thanks for reading and commenting =)

  4. unikorna says:

    What an exciting goal….over 100k words wow…I barely scribbled 6500 words in a short story. I wish you good luck, inspiration and hopefully you won’t have to wait too long til you’ll publish it. Kisses.

  5. sjp says:

    Well acquainted with that “Oh shit…” feeling, good luck in the next few months

Your feedback is welcome!

