The Business Side of Things

No Sunday Sample this week, I’m afraid. While I’ve been continuously writing Sovereign of Shadow, with its projected publication in August 2014, I’ve been spending a lot of time working out things on the business end these last few weeks. Getting the company name filed, the website set up, branding decisions, all that stuff. I have a very clear idea of how I want to put myself out there as an author, and with that in mind I’ll be making some changes to my blog this upcoming week. I’ll be switching URLs, and though I will leave btinsleywrites.com up as a way to archive my old stuff, I will no longer be updating it. All of my new posts will be going to the new blog. But I’ll make an official announcement when all of that stuff’s squared away, and I’ll leave a link to the new place.

As far as branding goes, this is something that’s been on my mind for quite some time. It’s extremely important to me – as I feel it should be for any writer – to consider how you want to portray your author identity. How will you let your readers know who you are and what you write about? Will you use a pen name, and why or why not? Is it important to you to stay anonymous, completely unveil yourself, or aim for something in between? These are the types of questions I’ve been mulling over.

After a discussion with another author, one who had some great advice for me on branding myself (thank you, Ali Cross!), I have decided that the most important thing to me personally, the thing I am most passionate about, is authenticity. Honesty and openness, and being true to myself. In the spirit of this, I will not be using a pen name. I’ll be writing under my name – Beka Tinsley – and have dedicated myself to being completely open with readers, through my writing and beyond.

More on this to come. Just wanted to give a heads up to those who have followed my journey thus far. Thanks to each and every one of you who has visited me here. Your support means the world.

 

Beka

Your feedback is welcome!

